Hello:

I bought my first Glock today. It's a Glock 43 ( 9 mm ). It looks "tactical" with a black slide and FDE frame/body.

As crazy as this sounds, I'm actually new to the 9 mm world. My experience with pistols has been with the good 'ole .45 1911. I got this Glock for concealed carry purposes because it fits my hands very well and it is so slim. Also, it is easier to strip & clean than a 1911, 9mm ammo is less expensive, and it shoots any kind of 9 mm ammo.

My question is what type of 9 mm ammo might be best for self-defense. I've noticed there are 115, 124, and 147 (?) grain bullets out there. I think there is 110 gr. ammo too. There are many different grains of 9 mm bullets.

I assume you might want a heavy 124 gr. hallow point for self-defense, but I might be wrong. I defer to anyone who might know better. Federal Hydrashocks look nasty, but a friend said to get Federal HST ammo instead.

All I can say is I've seen x-rays of what a 9 mm hallow point can do to someone's upper shin bone. It was shattered, and the guy was lucky to keep his leg and recover. It was a long orthopedic surgery. Total recovery (not just initial healing) took at least a year.

I've used 115gr for years, however thats my personal preference as my original p95 shot that best and was recommended by the manufacturer. As for self-defense loads i am looking at those solid copper rounds, i just cant place the manufacturer currently.

My Star likes 124gr rn fmj. so that is what I feed it. My personal experience is that self defense is gonna happen in a 15' or less perimeter. At that distance it is more important that it shoots, than what it shoots.

I've been seriously thinking about the 43. My edc is my Glock 27 but since migrating to FL I've been eyeballing the 43 as a substitute. I think the lighter and slimmer 43

would be a better fit for the warmer climate. 

I am also considering the 36 in .45 just never had an opportunity to compare them side by side.