newbie question about a bipod

:killer:

hey folks:

Just a lurking newbie here, managed to purchase a .223 Saiga last month.

Here in the frozen wasteland of upstate NY, been waiting for warmer weather to play with it seriously.

Was wondering, any help on what sort of bipod would bolt up easily?

Its not converted in any way, still the same as it came out of the factory.

And while you all have some great looking guns that you have converted,this one is staying stock.

but I do want to put a bipod on it.

Any assitance would be appreciated.

Mongo

One like this?!?!?

I put a standard QD swivel in the front of the forearm, where the old lug was... and then a standard bipod hooks right up to that.

its not the BEST pic of this setup... but it should give you an idea of where... and how...

:smoke:

s223tweak1b.jpg

Yes!

Thats exactly what i was thinking, but i have not looked to closely at the front sling nub. Its easily removeable then?

And its good to hear from a fellow NY'er. I'm located near Buffalo, closer to lake Ontario.

BTW, where did you get that buttstock, it looks interesting.

MONGO

Howdy neighbor! I am a little west of Syracuse, myself...

The front lug is just a screw... pop it out... it falls apart. you can replace it with an aftermarket sling lug.

That stock is a chinese MAK90 stock. J&G sales had em on clearance a while back so I bought a bunch.

They may still have them... check the clearance aisle... LOL

• 3 weeks later...

FWIW....

26095Saiga_handguard_gas_tube_-1.JPG

Note the modified Saiga swivel on the handguard front.

If you take the sling loop off and widen the slots in the cylinder, make the slot a little longer & flatten it's sides (a pretty simple file job) -a Harris bipod fits right on w/o need to add a QD swivel. The loop can be replaced if desired as well.

Remember: the Harris bipod has a provision for attaching a sling to it anyway (QD type).

I added the side swivel for grins.

Saigafrontend.jpg

Jus' a idea.