I'm a new member here.

Hey, guys. I am a police officer in Florida and I just recently purchased a Saiga 12C from Kalashnikov USA. It's a cool gun and I took it out to the non-law enforcement "action shotgun" match that the local range does every Thursday. It was a big hit with the other guys there and it was a lot of fun to shoot although one of the 8-round mags was a lemon. I shipped it back to Kalashnikov USA for a replacement. I ordered a TACM III weaponlight for it and will be installing that soon. When I get the money saved, I hope to install a laser with pressure pad.

I have read a lot of your posts about "assault weapons" and such. From what I know, I don't see why a thumbhole stock would be a problem on a Saiga 12. I was suprised that they weren't being imported like that. I guess Saiga configured them the way they did as to not draw attention to themselves by importing a "scary" looking shotgun.

As far as the 8-round magazine thing (the magazines actually work just as well with 9 rounds in them, so that's usually how I load them), the language of the "assault weapons" ban sounds to me like civilians should be able to own detatchable mags of a capacity up to ten (more than that would meet the "high capacity magazines" criteria of the ban). For some reason, however, my 8-rounders are stamped "LAW ENFORCEMENT ONLY". Funny thing, though, the stamp is painted on, not chisled into the plastic. Could this be a clue that thousands of unstamped 8-rounders are waiting, ready to flood the market as soon as the ban sunsets?

As for the restrictions on the AW ban shotguns, the same thing applies to them that does on a rifle.

From: http://www.gunnerynetwork.com/assault_weap...-ban-facts.html