Conversion Complete

The conversion on the Saiga .223 is complete. I may try venting the forearm at a later date.

I followed the directions by Sheik Yerbouti (http://www.cross-conn.com/Saiga_Conversion/). They are an extremely valuable guide.

My preference was to go for a "sniper" type appearance with the 20" barrel so I used a Choate Dragunov butt stock to achieve what another member referred to as a "Ghettonov" style. Since I started with a Saiga, I didn't have the retaining hardware necessary to install the forearm kit. That's no big deal because I kinda like the stock forearm anyway.

I am not a mechanically inclined by any stretch of anyone's imagination. The conversion was done with a hand drill, a brand new set of Craftsman Cobalt drills and an old Dremel tool that has been vastly neglected for 30 years and assorted hand tools. The Dremel saved my butt in this build!

Since the "Sheik" first wrote his instructions, there have been some advancements (at least what I have experienced in my build) that I would like to share with the forum viewers. Take 'um, leave 'um or modify them for future viewers.

In "Step 3", you need to file down the rivet next to the magazine lever and the rivet under the trigger guard because they can't be reached by a Dremel with a cutting wheel.(I was using Dremel Brand #420 Heavy Duty Cutoff Wheels). You can grind or file the rearmost rivet as the directions relate.

My problem was with the "spot weld" on the trigger plate. I wanted to save the trigger guard and tried to drill it as per the directions. I dulled a bunch of drill bits in the process. If you want to save the trigger guard,(and some drill bits) forget about the spot weld until the trigger plate is removed. Take your Dremel and grind the weld off from the back side.

I was lucky because I have a recent .223 RAA import that had the trigger hole and pistol grip hole underneath the trigger plate .