Ignorance is a curable disease(dumb question?)

The only way to combat ignorance is to ask dumb questions, right?Well, I'll admit I'm pretty new to this stuff and this is my first shotgun.What I have is the "standard" Saiga 12 ga model with the fixed full 1.0 choke.Is there any reason that I can't shoot slugs and/or steel shot through this gun?The reason I have to ask is because in the instruction manual(yes, some people actually READ them) it says-"**For steel shot or slug use Cylinder or Improved Cylinder tube."

Will I damage my shotgun if I send slugs through it as is?Should I take it to my local gun shop and have an improved cylinder installed?How much $$ should I expect to spend?Any info you guys could give me would be very helpful.I don't want to be ignorant forever. :wacko:

Slug's no - steelshot yes. I have the same gun, I use Nitro mag 2 3\4 steel bb's and they pattern nice at 25 yds!!! I have noticed no damage at all. I wouldnt use slugs tho unless you get your gun threaded for remington choke tubes and use nothing tighter than a modified for slugs!!

You can use slugs in the full choke Saiga 12 with no ill effects as long as the slugs are the Foster type (soft lead). These are the standard Remington/ Winchester ,etc. slugs. Other types (Brenneke?) have harder alloy slugs that won't compress easily throught the barrel choke.

I was patterning my Saiga 12 with a friend who has the same (22 inch w/full choke) and he had 3.5 inch groups at 50 yds., benchrested using Remington 3 inch Mag Slugger slugs. Very accurate from an inexpensive shotgun. Recoil was tolerable and less than other autoloading shotguns.

Ron S.

Im sorry but the is a old shotgun rule "dont use slugs in a full choke duh"