Alright, i'm contemplating buying a Dragunov, but i'm running into some huge price differences, i'm wondering why, not being a SVD expert i have no idea which one is better, SO which one is better? i've seen Norinco's going for 4000!! but a NIB romanian for 799?? what gives? anyone have a clue i could borrow?

You're a victim of the marketers.

The $699 rifle you are referring to isn't a Dragunov at all. The marketers here in the USA think they'll sell more if they call it one.

It's actually a PSL rifle.

These are sold under the following names: "SSG-97", "PSL-54C", "Romanian Dragunov"(which it's not), "FPK" and "PSL"

man i'd like to make it, i'm on duty that day and there's no one to cover my shift =( I'm gonna be at the TR shoot meet on April 27th though, showing up with some friends with big toys...like AR 50 big ;D ANYWAYS, this cheap verison of a dragunov, is it any good or should i just get a parts kit? :bag:

Edited by Vultite

The PSL is not a sniper rifle.

It is a designated marksman rifle.

When used with properly loaded sniper ammo, it will outshoot you. (In other words, using delinked 7.62x54R surplus machine gun ammo isn't gonna give you good groups)

Using heavy loads ( < 155gr ) in it will wear it out quick.

You're gonna be better off buying the complete rifle. Complete parts kits and receivers are hard to find.

Edited by nalioth

well that brings me to another question, if i should roll that route, then ver 100 or standard for saiga 308? so far the best deal i found on a PSL or romak 3 is 671 at on point, but no idea when more will be in stock too.....

Have you tried the Saiga 308? its pretty good for the money...... but ive been looking at PSL too the ammo is cheap...

http://www.centerfiresystems.com/index.asp...amp;ProdID=1427

this is the best deal ive found on PSL.....