9mm is one of the few calibers that when silenced are really fackin quiet. Get one and a can!

There are Sig P6 or Sig 225's out there now that are single stack 9mms that hold 8 rounds. They're $250. Beware some have the magazine release behind the magazine at the bottom of the grip, some are normal American style.

Edited by Twinsen
If your state allows CCW (mine doesn't) the 9 is preferable over a 380. So that might be something to keep in mind. The Bersas have gotten really good reviews and you may want to keep your eye out for one.

This will be a carry weapon. If practice determines it's a reliable and accurate weapon.

I picked up a M&P Compact. Inexpensive and rebate attached as well drives the price down or gets you extra mags. I am impressed by the overall quality etc. I have no long term experience with it only a couple hundred rounds at the range. Trigger sucks but that can be changed if you desire, in Ma they come with like a 12lb trigger, not sure about other states. Much prefer the Sig 226 but much different price ranges.

Good luck in your search.

Capacity! 15+1 in my G19

17+1 in the G17. Not compact though, besides he already stated he is a Glock hater.

Go with an XD then..... Allot of 1911 shooters like em.... Same hi cap as glocks...

I know you said you hate Glocks, so I am going to suggest you buy a .........................Glock.

Take a class, put lots of rounds thru it and then you will realize that your hate is unfounded.

I wasn't going to go there, but since you did I gotta say I just don't get the hatred for Glock. I own 2, and they are perfection. I must admit sometimes I like something heavy in my hand, but after owning a glock, I will probably never go back.

The 9mm has been around for a very long time.

If it were not an effective round it would not still be in production.

It was good enough for Germany to fight a world war with.

Then there's the famous H&K MP5, 'nuff said.

Oh and a big +1 to using it with a can!