I have been using a converted Saiga-12 small game hunting for the past two years, overall I wound fewer animals and drop them sooner.

I'm happy with it, I did have some old guy making a fuss about it... I think most of it had to do with me having my limit in hand and he was still birdless and cradling his 4000$ under over 16 Ga, had to have really bugged him to hear me hammering away the whole morning (I think I had fired 25-30 rounds in a little over an hour)

I started using reloads about mid small game season this year and started using a side by side to save my shells.. My reloaded shells are hard to find on the ground because of the soot and grime on them.

Edit: These are last years pictures... Forgot my camera at home every day of this year.

40600007-1.jpg

40600001-1.jpg

Edit2: You said you wanted a story..

About October 1st or 2nd I got out for the first time small game hunting. Had my brothers friend along who was new to hunting so he was talking a bit and walking a little loud (not a big deal).

Anyway we went through most of the morning walking and not seeing a thing, he did not have any idea what a ruffed grouse looked like so he kept asking if the blue jays and other small bird that took off where grouse. I told him "You will know the grouse when you hear it, they sound like nothing else and scare the crap out of you"..

So we walk even farther and we come across a black squirrel and I drop it with two rounds trying to only hit him in the head with his body behind the tree. Just as I pick it up to bag it a grouse jumps maybe 20 feet away, of course I have a dead squiral in my hand that I am trying to put in a bag but I still have my S-12 in my right hand, so I snap the safety off and fire one handed just point shooting first round was a little low but the recoil brought the barrel right on target and round two killed the bird instantly... Of course the two shots where so close together that the friend said "wow dropped him in one shot!!"