Buying a AK for the first time - please help

I am very new to the Saiga 12's and the AK's - so please forgive me if this sounds like some dumb questions.

By the way this forum is awsome and the people using it seem to be great as well.

I have been reaserching and trying to figure out how to buy an AK. It has been educational and interesting. But I currently still have some confusion.

I am going to a local gun show this weekend to buy 1 maybe 2 (funds allowing) and I have a couple of questions on the 922r compliance of the AK rifle.

This is why I am confused.

When I bought my Saiga 12's they came in the sporting style to be able to ship to the united states and comes to the US - 922r compliant (sporting configuration). Then we are able to change parts to customize them the way we want (tatical if we wish) as long as we have 10 or less foreign parts on it. I understand this part.

But

When looking at the AK rifle - the pistol grips are moved ahead, they have the wood stock and hand guards, foreign magazines, and foreign flash hider or thread protector, and they look as not to be the sporting configuration as the Saiga 12.

? ? ? I guess my confusion and my questions are how can the AK's come here in the pistol grip configuration and the Saiga 12 cannot.

and

? ? ? When I am shopping for my AK's how am I to determine what AK to buy to make sure that I am legal (by the way I live in Florida) - - - I have read in this forum that some people remove the noncompliant parts before the call in of the background check and before the purchase ( unfortunatly I belive this is what started my confusion) - and yes - ( :rolleyes: I realize sometimes it does not take much for confusion to set in :rolleyes: )