20 Round Double Stack Mags?

This may be a goofy thought but after playing around with an S12 and installing an extended mag release, the thought came to me. I'm not an engineer, and have no idea what the follower would look like but heck, what about a mag about the length of the Surefire 12 round but double stacked with 20 rounds? Is this feasible?

Technically a an Ak mag is double stack, correct? Sure, it would be fat but what the heck, I've had a couple glasses of wine and thought I'd ask.

Most folks in the know seem to feel it isn't possible due to the rim on the 12 gauge shell but they'd seel like hotcakes if you could produce them...

Is the 10 round mag for a 7.62x54R Dragunov single stack then? From what I remember.... it is. However, if not, copy its design and scale it up accordingly.

Most folks in the know seem to feel it isn't possible due to the rim on the 12 gauge shell but they'd seel like hotcakes if you could produce them...

Is the 10 round mag for a 7.62x54R Dragunov single stack then? From what I remember.... it is. However, if not, copy its design and scale it up accordingly.

Pardon me, but you lost me...

:unsure: How does copying a design and scaling it up to accommodate double stacked 12g rnds, solve the inherent problems with double stacked rimmed cartridges binding together? :unsure:

Pardon me, but you lost me...

:unsure: How does copying a design and scaling it up to accommodate double stacked 12g rnds, solve the inherent problems with double stacked rimmed cartridges binding together? :unsure:

The 7.62x54R is also rimmed. The Dragunov (or better yet the FPK) is semi-auto / gas operated with the Kalasnikov design like the Saiga. My suggestion was to copy the solution to an analogous problem.

Barrett 50 bmg magazine holds them 12ga. shells . Mag is about 2 1/4 times to long . Holds 9 12ga shell.