Saiga bbl length/gas system & parts ?

Hey Guys:

I have an older Saiga that I traded into the first year they were on the market in the US. I am a police officer so I can do pretty much anything I want to this thing. I have relocated the pistol grip and put a bunch of Galil parts on it, Galil folder, pistol grip, forend and safety/selector (operated with the left thumb). I had to modify the bolt to allow a magazine to be inserted by machining a shallower angle on the bottom where it contacts the first shell. I still have to put PSI ghost ring sights on it, but It,s getting real close to the parkerize and paint stage and appears that it will be a viable weapon system. I was teaching a shotgun class at the academy last week and took it out and ran it a little. It preformed well although it still has only a little stud for a front sight left over from the original sighting system. I was wondering about a couple of things. I assume the gas chamber is pressed to the barrel as I knocked the pin out of it and was unable to get it off. I also assume that the gas chamber has to be removed to get the "gas tube" off the gun, also I am considering titling this weapon and was wondering if any of you guys have had any experience cutting the barrel on these weapons without pressing the gas block off? This shotgun started life with a 24 inch barrel and I have cut it to 18 inches, but upon test firing it found that it would cycle only 2.75 inch high brass with the gas regulator set in the number 2 position. I also want to modify a Galil bolt carrier for this weapon, but I'm not sure it will fit. has anyone tried a standard AK carrier in their Saiga? I realize the gas piston portion of the Galil carrier will have to be cut, but I'm not sure It will fit the rails. I'm hoping you guys can build Saigas just like it after September of 2004.

I'll post photos of this weapon in a couple of months when it's finished,

Richard