.223 Accuracy woes...

So yeah, I'm kicking around to get some ideas. I've already figured alot of stuff out on my own... I'm a fairly competent 'smith and I have built some precision bolt rifles that shoot .5 moa or better. I am, however, new to this AK thing and it is a different ballgame.

I first wanted to test my rifle just to see how capable it was. I mounted a scope (properly) and shot the rifle from the prone and on a soft rest. Results were abysmal. I'm talking 3" to 4" groups at 50 yards. After playing around for a few minutes, I remember watching the high speed camara showing the barrel whip in an AK firing. I mounted a 40mm scope on medium rings... had enough room between the objective and the rear sight blade to slip a couple of pieces of paper. I decided to get high rings to give me clearance, thinking that barrel whip could be slapping the scope (in which case I'm positive it was now).

Then I started playing with the forearm handgaurd, and noticed that it puts a considerable amount of pressure on the barrel. Buh bye handgaurd (for now... obviously I still have it but I'm going to develope something to float the barrel). It does look like my gas tube fitment with the gas block should have enough play to acount for heat expansion, so I don't think I need to mess with the has tube much if any.

After this, and with several different brands of ammo... from the fabulously cheap to high quality stuff... I've gotten my rifle to shoot about 2.5 moa. With Fiocchi ammo I was posting 1 1/4" groups @ 50 yards... though some did slip to 1.5".

So I guess the point is I'm going to share some of my learnedness, and plead for advice from those who know more... Some Observations I've made.

- The stock handgaurd fitment on my rifle degraded accuracy

- If you mount a scope, make sure you have lots of clearance

- I'm pretty sure that if the gas tube fits really tight that can degrade accuracy, especially as the barrel heats up