21" Saiga .308 setup like PSL/Dragunov

Alright, so everyone knows neither rifles are your typical tack-driver. From what I understand the PSL was designed as a "squad designated marksmen" type rifle. Anyways, if you were to build up a S-.308 like a PSL, how would the accuracy compare? Would it be a waste of time/effort?

I heard/read the EFFECTIVE range of the std 308 round is like 700-800 yards..

Now getting the group to be 'sniper-ish' (3-4" groups) would be awesome..

I'm no expert, but I am also entertaining the S-308 - 21" as my next buy for conversion.

Unless there is a LOUD argument on the 16 vs. 21 for '600 yard' WORK....

I got a 16 x39 so I'm good for 200-250 yards... IMHO.

I'm no expert, but I am also entertaining the S-308 - 21" as my next buy for conversion.

Man, a 3-4" group isn't anywhere near "sniper-ish." Good for a DMR, but snipers are supposed to be able to hit 1" groups or less at extremely long ranges, like 1000 meters. Someone correct me if I'm wrong here.

ahh geez... I am relatively new to the Saiga arena. I just converted an S-12, they have vodka special .308's, too???

unless u get a real bad vodka special a saiga 308 will out shoot most if not all the psl out there.

I haven't heard anything about .308 having problems (that would be fucked up, considering what they're asking for'em nowadays), I was under the impression that this was something that was pretty much isolated to the 12 gauge platform, due to the multiple holes that need to be present.

Edited by elvis christ

It seems like guys are getting 1 1/2 inch groups with there .308's. That's got to be about perfect when you consider the AK was meant to be reliable first and then whatever you want to call it second. I have a question for the .308 guys. Any way of leaving it in it's stock config. and getting a good trigger? I love the looks of the wood .308's.