Saiga 12 Performance Projects

A number of months ago I participated in an ongoing discussion regarding FTE, and FTC issues. The same issues had been coming up again and again, with posts appearing daily asking for help with these problems.

In many cases members had spent hundreds of dollars for after market fixes like fixer plugs, gas pistons, reduced recoil springs, and hundreds of rounds of high brass break in ammo, with mixed and often disappointing results.

Even members who were relatively happy with their guns avoided certain types of ammo, because it simply wouldn't cycle reliably, or at all.

As a builder, I had been able to overcome these problems by refining and rebuilding my guns with extensive modifications and refinements to the OEM and Tapco G2 parts which allowed the guns to cycle virtually any - even the cheapest 12 gauge ammo flawlessly.

In those discussions there was some skepticism that the work I am doing would cure all of the problems being discussed, and deliver a fast reliable battle ready S12 that would cycle whatever the owner could get his hands on.

OK, I said -- I will take one forum members problem gun (problem usually meaning it has FTE issues with low brass ammo), I will rebuild and mod that gun, and all I ask in return is that the forum member provide an unbiased write up regarding the performance and reliability of the gun when I had finished the build.

As it turned out, two forum members contacted me about my offer. One member had a gun that had problems cycling low brass ammo, and the other had an absolutely beautiful professional S12 conversion that basically did not cycle at all.

The issues with the guns were different enough that I felt both would be worthy for the project, the owners agreed to send them to me, and I agreed to rebuild the guns in exchange for an unbiased write up.