I'm a long time lurker, new poster. I've noticed a strange trend both here (and in many forums) for people to be anti-bullpup. As a combat vet and particularly when I was a security contractor I found the bullpup configurations to work so much better.

Now I did do a lot of work in buildings and vehicles, and also tended towards heavy armor, so maybe it skewed my viewpoint a bit, but I find the arguments about balance to be strange. The folks who say a folding stock is better must have had a very different set of circumstances than I encountered, generally I found that if the stock was folded when an incident occured the weapon had to be used with it folded, less than optimal. In general in the situations I encountered the bullpup was so vastly superior it just seems strange for me to see so many people saying that they would never own one and can't see why people would.

I don't mean to put down people's choice, I'm honestly asking to understand other folk's perspective on this.

I did work with pretty mixed groups and most foreign armies now carry bullpups, so the folks I met tended to choose a bullpup whenever one was available. So is this a case of the american preferance for conventional layouts? asthetics? Rampant mall ninjas?

Yeah, I've wondered the same thing, although I don't have the experience and background you do...I try to match my weapon to the circumstances, and wouldn't be using a bullpup for shooting clay pigeons, or for long range slug work. There are guns better suited to those kinds of pursuits. On the other hand, for close in action, for home defense (which in many cases is close in action), and for greater concealability, I can't see where a bullpup would be a detriment.