Mercury Hermes Saiga 5.45

So I just got one of the Mercury Hermes Saiga 5.45 with the RAA stamping machined off. The thing is that it has Legion markings on it. I think the receiver and the bolt is Legion while the barrel is regular saiga. Anyone can confirm this?

Also when the bolt is in the receiver it slide super easy. If you have the bolt past the trigger and lift the butt end 15 degrees it slides right in. I have no other experience in AK but the Saiga 12. Is this common on other saigas?

I got the same sheet you got... Not a target with rounds through it.

According to another recent thread dealing with your same issue, Mercury-Hermes out of KY is importing these Legion rifles now. That thread has only been in the last week or two. Lot more info there...

ETA: found it: http://forum.saiga-12.com/index.php?showtopic=60207&st=0&p=573567&hl=importer&fromsearch=1entry573567

Edited by bohound

Yes, I got one with mine. It says "extreme spread" of a 4-shot 100m range zeroed at 100M is ~ 134mm.

This however, is a drunk Ruskie using it with no muzzle break to get the extreme spread. I'm pretty sure I'd get a better measurment at 100m sober.

> (yea I got the Hermes one too, complete with the ugly velcro-look'n electrostamp).

Edited by Kalashniklown

Yes, I got one with mine. It says "extreme spread" of a 4-shot 100m range zeroed at 100M is ~ 134mm.

This however, is a drunk Ruskie using it with no muzzle break to get the extreme spread. I'm pretty sure I'd get a better measurment at 100m sober.

> (yea I got the Hermes one too, complete with the ugly velcro-look'n electrostamp).

I do not know where you get your information about how weapons are tested at Izhmash, but its not done by a "drunk russian, wobbling the rifle around willie nille". Each rifle is placed in a vise-like setup and shot. The spread has nothing to do with the accuracy of the shooter. :ph34r:

-Sal

• Like 3
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...