i'm new to this and i am looking to convert a S12. i found THIS part for sale, but haven't seen any pics of it installed. can anyone verify that this would install just like other internal receiver blocks? i like the idea of it, but the screw holes just behind what i assume is the tang area are throwing me off. i haven't seen any other internal adapters that use those holes. anyone used this before? what would be the benefit over THIS ONE thats half the price?

• Like 1

The SGM unit replaces the rear trunnion and is held in place by screws. You have to drill out rivets and remove your existing trunnion and replace it with the SGM unit if you go that route. The holes that it uses are the rivet holes from the original rear trunnion.

With the other unit, you just need to cut the tang (piece that sticks out and holds standard buttstocks in place) from the factory rear trunnion and it slides in.

Go with the one you posted from MississippiAutoArms.

• 1 month later...

I'm in the process of installing one of these while doing a conversion (Carolina SS kit) on my Saiga 12 with the SAW grip. Here's what i've found so far:

1. Drilling out the rivets & removing the old trunnion/tang wasn't a problem. The holes that the new trunnion mount was supposed to use were too small for the screws to fit through. The instructions say "if the holes are too small, enlarge them using a 3/16 bit." Plan on having to drill to make them fit.

2. The SGM Tactical rear trunnion mount will not fit a mil spec buffer tube (1.148 O.D. (Overall Diameter)), only commercial spec (1.168 O.D.). I overlooked that but it's no big deal. Plus it didn't specify on the website I bought it from.