Need help with a scope for my VEPR

Hi guys,

I do not have very much experience with scopes nor have done much research yet but I was looking to get something nice for my VEPR .308.

I have a Leopold on my 30-06 but have not used it very much.

I would like to stay in a budget around 600 dollars. I don't really care about name as much as performance. This will be used for target shooting, I do not hunt. Most shooting will be done in the 100 to 300 yard range and probably go no farther than 500 yards.

I do have poor eyesite and should go get contacts or glasses someday..... Will be for daylight shooting do not need night vision etc.

Any suggestions you guys have I would appreciate and I will do some research on them. I am pretty new to the world of scopes.

Leupold 2.5-10, unless you want to go silly with the magnification.

If you want to go silly with magnification, Vortex Viper 6.5-20x44PA with the mildot reticule.

Lots of very good scopes in the <$600 range, but I like Leupold and Vortex. I think those two makers have some of the best value for the money.

I scoped my S-308, and would probably make some changes if I were to do it over again. So I'll offer you some of the benefit of my limited experience.

For example, I wish I had a different reticle that allowed range and bullet drop estimation. Mil-dots, MOA hash marks, or a generic bullet drop compensating reticle would be nice.

Be aware that a lot of scopes could have clearance issues with an AK's rear sight block if mounted low. This necessitates mounting the scope far enough forward that the objective bell sits in front of the RSB, behind the RSB, buying higher rings, buying a shorter scope, or buying a scope with a smaller objective lens.