Are solenoid operated triggers legal?

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

The definition of a machinegun:   "Firearms within the definition of machinegun include weapons that shoot, are designed to shoot, or can be readily restored to shoot, automatically more than one s

Do whatever the fuck you want. I couldn't give a shit less. I was just offering some food for thought. You obviously doubted the legality of this build because you posted the topic. Now you didn't lik

I agree with Shandlanos. Some people, including myself, are against the idea of guns having wires. I was a F14 Tomcat mechanic, F14s had all mechanical flight controls (push pull tubes, bell cranks, e

I don't THINK it's legal, but I'm not positive. Perhaps the ATF is worried about a remotely fired weapon, like on the Jackal. Who knows. Or maybe it's because it would be considered too easy to convert it to send a pulsed signal to the solenoid, hence getting a full auto, for all intents and purposes.

Edited by Corbin

I don't think a solenoid itself would be illegal.

It would be pretty easy to make the logical leap to constructive possession if it's software-controlled, as the software could be readily re-written to allow full-auto fire. If it is hard-wired, so that you press the new "trigger," being an electronic button/switch, which activates the solenoid to trip the mechanical trigger, and when released, releases the solenoid and allows the mechanical trigger to reset, I don't see the problem. It could definitely enable a high rate of semi-automatic fire.

I'm not a lawyer, etc. etc.

Id do some research on trigger actuators for this one. Atkins accelerator got banned for a spring, slide fires legal without one. The accelerator pulled the trigger each time it fired , it wasn't full auto, but got banned as a trigger actuator anyways. so it can be semi and still be banned.