Ok I am new to the whole Saiga scene. I have a stock "MADE IN RUSSIA BY IZHMASH" Saiga-12 that my wife bought me as a gift. Has a US Sporting Goods INC. Rockledge, FL stamp on it. Is this a good brand/type to own? I mainly plan to have it around the home for self defense. I want to buy some sort of pistol grip or foldable stock for it. Do a lot of people add an optic to it?

Though I have thought about taking it deer hunting. I live at FT. Campbell(I am a soldier) and I would like to take it hunting on post since they have a loooong gun season compared to my home state of Ohio. I plan to buy a smaller magazine like a 2 rounder for hunting.

Basically my questions are...is it a good brand, what brand of 2 and 20 round magazines should I look to buy, should I buy a different barrel for sabot slugs or stick with the standard and use rifled slugs, and what would be a good mod for a pistol grip and/or foldable stock for it?

I have read a few posts that Remington Sluggers are the best rifled slugs for this gun, what are your guys thoughts?

I know I have a lot of questions, but I am pressed for time as I live a busy life since I am a married soldier with 30 hours worth of stuff in a 24 hour day lol. TY TY everyone.

The FL stamp is just the importer. All saigas are made in the same factory and shipped to the US as you see them. There are a few different models but the brand is Saiga, made in Izhmash machine plant, imported by whomever the flavor of the month is at the time (it changes).

You will have to stick with rifled slugs, as there currently is no aftermarket rifled barrel available.

SGM, AGP, MDArms are the best of the US made magazines (not in any particular order). Try to avoid Pro-mag if possible.

Remington sluggers are a good choice for off the shelf slugs. Try a few different brands and see what yours likes best tho.