Shell length to feed my new Vepr?

Is there a best shell length to use in the system? How about the loads?

I am going to order some ammo (well maybe a fair amount) and I have no real experience with shotguns (last fired a 12 gauge about 50 years ago) and their myriad of shells. Three or four lengths and a semi-infinite range of loads. Most of my ammo will simply go to non-defense and non-hunting uses (e.g., screwing around). If it makes sense, I am thinking about buying some of the more reloadable rounds (like Remington STS from what I have read) so I can reload if I really get into this. The low ends of cheapie stuff seems to be around $0.21 and the STS around $0.33. Once that is resolved, what sort of load should I buy for my stated purpose? I understand shot size, of course, but some of the other descriptions by purpose are not helping me a lot. I will get some #00 or slugs for use around the house. I am not thinking very light loads for general use either.

Well, you might start by just hitting Walmart a time or two and grabbing a few boxes of assorted ammo. See what it will reliably run and make note of it. Make note of the stuff that it just won't eat, as well. Once you figure out what fits within your personal criteria and will run in the weapon, then you can make a bulk purchase of ammo with some degree of confidence that you will be happy with your decision.

On another note, my VEPR 12s will run off of nearly any 2 3/4"- 3" ammo when I am done with them. It could come in extremely handy someday.