what kind of press ar you using right now

Thinking about asking the wife for a reloader for x mas and was wondering what some of you are using and what are the pros and cons of your particular reloader. I would be using it for not only 223 and 5.56 but also pistol calibers as well. Any info will be considered valuable as I have never reloaded before

I use three different presses. A '60's vintage RCBS JR2 that I have been loading on since the 70's. It gets the most use, since I normally load small lots of 50-100 in about 30 different calibers. For high volume stuff, 500 - 5,000 piece runs, I use a Dillon 650. Then I have an RCBS AmmoMaster for the 450 Nitro Express and 50BMG. Both rounds are too long for a standard press.

Keep in mind, a Dillon style tube case feed won't work with some rebated rim cartridges, ie, the .50 Beowulf.

Tony

A Dillon 550b would be my choice, it can do about any caliber you may need (exception is 50bmg type stuff)

Tool changes (caliber changes ) are quick and simple.

It has a pretty high rate of production.

LIFE TIME warranty!!!! with no BS whatsoever

I have one in service for most of my rifle calibers, I load pistol on a Dillon RL1050..between 2 and 10 thousand rounds per month.

Jim

I'm using lee, as it is what I could afford and I'm just starting out. Bought mine as I am doing 9mm and 30-30 for myself and my friends can use it also for their 45acp, 30-06, 8mm, 7.62, and others as well. Its the Lee Classic Turret Press.

I was leaning twords Dillion but going back and forth between the 550 and the 650. thanks for the info guys

The main difference between the two machines is the 650 accepts the automatic case feeder and the 550 requires you to hand feed the cases into the machine.