reloading/molding x39 and 308

Hi guys, i am pretty new to the idea of reloading and molding ammo/bullets but my neighbor has started to mold his own 9mm and 00 buck. He said that hed let me use his stuff for free provided i have all i need. Minus cases, primers, lead, and powder, what would i need? Im certain ill need a mold and a die but past that im totally lost. Any way someone could gimme a list of stuff to pick up (tool wise) before i start this little adventure? Thanks again for the input.

...would a 7.62x39 set of dies work for. 308 win? Or do i need two different sets? Thought id get a reply by now...

No, in general you will need a seperate set of dies for each caliber that you reload.

Im also seeing that dies are being advertized as .312.... thought it was .311.... any help here?

Nominal bore diameter for 7.62x39 should be .310" but you should slug your bore to know for sure. With cast bullets, you will want to size them to about .001" greater than bore diameter. Since your .308 will most likely need .309" cast bullets, plan on sizing to different diameters for each caliber, even if you are using the same mold for both. Also be aware that some Ruger Mini-30s and possibly other US made x39 rifles were built with .308 bores.

Also, before you buy anything else, plan on picking up one or more reloading manuals and studying until you know the basic processes, before you actually try loading anything. I highly recommend sticking to factory made, jacketed bullets to start with if you are a beginning reloader.

• Like 1

Haven't bought a thing for reloading yet, and ill borrow a manual from my neighbor and read up. He is pretty experienced it seems and can help me but he doesnt reload rifle rounds. Im surprised youd have to slug the barrel in order to load cast bullets...figured there was a standard diameter for each caliber.

Eta: neighbor hasnt recently started, i recently learned he reloaded lol