Shorten Saiga 223 butt stock legally in NY

Shorten Saiga 223 butt stock legally in NY...

I want to shorten the butt stock of a Saiga 223 rifle. I live in New York State, and we are not allowed collapsible magazines as that is considered one military aspect, and I ready have, as you guys know, a military aspect insofar as a detachable magazine.

I like shorter but stocks, as I don't like long rifles, I don't like my left arm being extended out as much; it is uncomfortable to me. (The current "plastic" butt stock is approximately 12 1/2 inches if I measured correctly. And this is a 16 inch barrel Saiga 223 rifle-which is good as his to shortest length barrel available).

I have a standard polymer factory Saiga 223 butt stock currently.

Any ideas of how to accomplish this while still maintaining compliance with the New York State law?

Assuming it is possible, I am not too technically oriented, so I seriously doubt I could do it myself. Bringing it to a gunsmith would almost definitely have to happen. Just by the way, I had called several gunsmiths about modifying the trigger on a Saiga 308 rifle that I have, that many of you know is a peculiar trigger, and many of them said they will not do any work on Saiga rifles for legal reasons, which I found attention-grabbing.

Thank you for any help assistance and input

To measure your correct "length of pull" bend your elbow at a 90° angle and measure from the inside of your elbow to the first knuckle crease of your index finger. That is the correct measurement from the trigger to the end of the butt stock, FOR YOU. It would be ill-advised to go shorter than that.

There are others who may advise differently. I will not. The information you are looking for is in the laws, both Federal and State.

• Like 1