Accuracy driving me nuts. Not sure if it's rifle or scope(s)

I have the .223.

Ammo was Federal

I put (2 different) 3-9x40 scopes on it hoping to be able to shot out to 100 or so yards easier.

At 50 yards I can dial in the scope and put 7 shots in a 1x1" or less square. Move out to 100 and can't hardly hit a paper plate more less any type of consistent placement. Sometimes it goes off the plate right next shot off the plate high, all over the place

I've changed scopes and same thing happens with both scopes.

I decided to slowly work my way out to 100 yards from 50.

50 yards was as stated above

65 yards it was hitting 2" low so I dialed it in to bull and 3 shots on top of one another

Moved it to 80 yards and completely off the plate and no consistent shot placement.

There was about 5 minutes time from the 65 yard shots to the 80. Same ammo.

I can't for the life of me figure out how or why it does this

Anyone have any suggestions. Is it the scope or the rifle

I'm no expert, but my first thought is that your scope mount is probably not holding zero.

There's no way that a rifle shooting 1" groups at 50 yards can't hit paper at 100.    I'm going to go out on a limb and say it's probably not the rifle.

Edited by SGL

I'm no expert, but my first thought is that your scope mount is probably not holding zero.

There's no way that a rifle shooting 1" groups at 50 yards can't hit paper at 100.    I'm going to go out on a limb and say it's probably not the rifle.

yeah, reading this more thoroughly this is a good theory.

what results do you get with iron sights?

yeah, reading this more thoroughly this is a good theory.

what results do you get with iron sights?

Lol yea I thought about that AFTER I left the range. I was just so disgusted with trying to figure out what in the world was going on I forgot.