Vepr 12 Magazine Drop

Hi,  I am new to the Vepr 12. 

I couldn't find a similar thread, so I'm going to ask this question.

I put my brand new factory 5 round mag (empty) in my Vepr12 to check out the magwell.  It was so hard to remove the magazine I had to turn the gun around, clamp my hands on the mag release and then hold it with one hand while I pulled with all of my strength to get the mag out.

I figured these were just straight up and down mags (no rock) so I thought they should just pull straight down when released.  Is that wrong?  I did try wiggling it but that didn't help.  No jokes please.

Anyway I got the mag out but I had to use an  unreasonable amount of force.

I'll take the carrier out and see if I can spot what is catching when I remove the mag.  The tab looks ok to me but it's the only vepr mag I have seen in person.

edit - noticed the tab had an almost invisible line on the edge of it where it was being shaved by the mag catch.  I took a small file and shaved off a very small amount.  It was such a small amount I didn't even see polymer shavings coming off the file.  Two cycles of doing this and testing it and I'm good to go.

Thanks everyone for answering the question.  I wanted to make sure I was not doing something stupid before I tried that.  

If this happens to you it's probably the tab being like 0.001" too long.  Be very slow with your file.  You would not want to take too much off and not be able to lock.

Edited by Hornsj2

Did you have to slam to get the mag to lock initially?  My fixed stock VEPR12 had a mag release that was a lot tighter than my folder.  I assume you are using the mag that come with the gun.  When did you buy the gun?  Sounds like a huge QC issue.  Where did you purchase it from.  Not sure if you can get a replacement at this point with the sanctions.  I have had AK47 mags get that tight Yugo mags.  It sounds like the mag catch needs adjusted.