Vocational education comments & thoughts

Hello:

"Capt. Nemo" has a topic below titled "Death of Shop Class." I think the lack of vocational routes, or apprentice programs, in our country is a very bad thing. Though my real interest now is National Security, I would have loved to have had an option like my uncle had around the end of my high school years - learn to build aircraft engines at Pratt & Whitney. 

In retrospect, it seems unfortunate that my high school was (and still is) set-up primarily to produce college students. "Go to college" was the main message we got. Even at that young age, you were stigmatized if college wasn't in your future. Like someone else said, votech was a dumping ground for the bad students. 

So ... I did what I was socialized to do: I got an engineering degree. Even now there's a TV commercial telling viewers to be an engineer, and one talk show host pushes STEM curricula. Yes ... engineering is very important. We need engineers. But the fact of the matter is most people are not engineering material. You might even be intelligent enough to go through the motions and get an engineering degree like I did only to fail in your career because it really isn't what's right for you. It isn't natural. Also, most college professors can't teach worth a damn anyway. One thought I had when I graduated from college was "where's the beef?!" There's something wrong with getting an engineering degree and not knowing how a house is built. My experience has been colleges DO NOT prepare kids for the workforce like vocational programs do. I didn't really know how to do squat after engineering school. I knew about a lot more stuff, but not how to do anything.