Just purchased my first saiga 12, what do I need to do first?

I just ordered the IZ109 and the chaos Titan rail. I'm new to the saiga scene but I know I want the following..

Foregrip

Aftermarket stock

Slide fire stock

Shroud

Muzzle brake

20 round drum

12 round ak style magazine

Am I looking at a lot of fitting for these? Also what specifically designates the "conversion"? Is it just the trigger assembly? Also I read somewhere you can only have so many aftermarket parts, is that true? Like I said I'm new to this so please fill me in on what info I need to get this all done.

Due to 922® you must have a certain number of US-made parts to use magazines over 5 rounds. Replacing parts like the stock, trigger group, gas puck, forend, etc. will put you in compliance. You can add as many aftermarket parts as you wish as long as 922® is followed.

First thing to do is run a couple boxes of birdshot and buckshot/slugs through to break it in. Make sure to change the gas selector, 1 for high power loads and 2 for light loads. Then you can work on conversion.

MD20 20-round drum is highly recommended over promag. CSSPECS steel 8 round stick mags are also recommended. SlideFire stock is expensive, both in price and ammo costs, not recommended to start out. Convert and use it some before springing for the SF.

Edited by Heartbreaker
  • Like 2

Like MM said,

Check function first, before you start bolting junk to it. Function issues will to some degree determine what you will need to do with it.

Look up the tech section on here and read, read, read. Most of the info is good some not so much.

Good luck and welcome.

• Like 1