Just purchased a Saiga 12. Question about serial number and markings.

Hello,

I just purchased this saiga 12 at a local gun expo. I'm new to these guns and have a few questions. It is a 22 inch version with full choke built into barrel. Was told it's an older model and more desirable. It dosent appear to have any importation marking and is marked with a 99 right before the serial number. I'm assuming that is the year it was made? Also I think I'm going to get the barrel cut down to 18 inches. I have been reading that saiga's have different gas ports depending on barrel length. Does anyone know how many gas ports my version has andone will taking the barrel down to 18 inches make it not cycle correctly?

Thanks for any help in advance.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

It can work, it will just be more difficult to control than one that is made for setting rivets.   Edit to add; my AK riveting tools:     Usually for the rear trunnion rivets I use one of the r

Convert it. Anything else is teh ghey

Rivets can be set by hand with a buck and a ball peen hammer, followed by a homemade set to 'pretty it up'. I made the cavity for the set with a dremmel.

dont enlarge the ports yet. when you cut it, if you cut it, then maybe, but maybe not.

the importer on that is kalashinikov usa, and they only brought in several thousands of them.

ask more questions first before you do anything. also does a dime drop into the muzzle?

moreover - punching the pins and block and barrel the older ones is usually pretty difficult. so you cant use the more recent instructions to do it.

After putting some thought into it. It dosent really make sense to shorten the barrel. I cut it down to 18 inches and then by the time I put a screw on choke I'm back to about 20 inches anyway depending on the choke. I don't think I will cut it unless I decide to go sbs.