Hope all had a happy 4th of July!  I have been building a covered patio for about 2 months now.  After work and on the weekends.  Its about 500 square feet, maybe a little bigger.  The concrete slab was already poured by the previous owners. Building the frame, was pretty much the easy part.  I have been off since last Thursday, so I could sheath and shingle the roof.  I have officially had my @ass kicked every which way possible!  From carrying the sheets of 4x8 osb to the back, and the 4 squares of shingles, the #30 felt paper (tar paper), flashing, cutting, smashing my fingers, holy crap batman!  I'm only 54 years old, but I feel like I am well past that.  But I will also admit, it is July here in San Antonio, and the Devil himself cannot be found here because of the heat!  My roofing nailer blew about every possible gasket it has, so me and the Mrs. cut the remaining coiled nails and have been using them, which isn't a big deal, just a little more time consuming.

So, HATS OFF TO YOU ROOFERS!  What a tough damn job!  How you do it, on a day to day basis, I can't even guess. 

Off to take my 800 Motrin and get ready for the remainder of hell day....smile.gif 

Why did I do it myself?  Because I had 3 estimates to build my covered patio, none were as nice as I ended up building, and all were between $12K-$15K!  I think when I am done, I will have spent around $2K.  But I understand why people pay....

• Like 4

I installed roofing when I was in my late teens. You're right. It's hard, hot, dirty, dangerous work. It sucks. Shitty pay too.

Just thinking about it make me glad I joined the Army and learned another skill. 

I helped some friends of mine replace shingles on 3 or 4 houses back when we were in our 20's. Full strip shingles and paper, replace wood as-needed, and lay down the new paper and shingles. Would not want to try it now! At 53 yrs. old with a mild heart condition, I have to take a break just mowing the lawn, and triple-H weather just kicks my arse.