saiga chamber question

The receiver and mag are stamped .223 Rem, so its a safe bet that the chamber is .223 Rem.

I for one have fired both and suspect that the pressure difference isnt an issue with a Saiga. The chamber dimension is slightly different though I think, which basically just means that if you are reloading you need the Rem die, not Nato.

I admit that I am no expert so if someone can clarify this, please do.

also, search around, I know this has come up before.

I have never heard of any problem (let alone a dangerous problem) using 5.56 ammo in a .223 chamber. Obviously, 'buyer beware, your mileage may vary, I may be deaf-dumb-and-stupid, etc.' But I've never even heard of a problem with using 7.62 NATO ammo in a .308 chamber, and IIRC, the differences are greater than those between the 5.56 & .223.

FWIW, I'm currently using 5.56 NATO ammo in my .223 Saiga, and have not had a single failure to extract or failure to eject (let alone split cases, etc.). Because the country appears to be ruled by rabid lawyers, however, I will not suggest that anyone else, any where, at any time, consider what I have posted to be a recommendation of any sort, or any kind of recommendation or certification regarding safety.

;>)

This issue has probably caused more confusion than just about any other gun related topic. Here's a good place to start for an explanation of the differences between .223 Rem/5.56mm :

http://www.thegunzone.com/556v223.html

There are a number of links in that article that will take you to more in depth explanations if you so desire.