Hey guys. I'm a newbie to anything Kalashnikov related and recently purchased a Saiga 7.62x39 (16" barrel, skeleton stock w/ cheek rest)from a local shop. It was used, but in great condition. The guy in the store didn't really know too much about the Saiga other than that it was Russian made, and I have to admit I was rather ignorant too. I thought I was just purchasing another AK-knock off.

The rifle came with a 30rd. steel magazine. I wanted to purchase an additional mag, but we couldn't get them to lock into place. I noticed that the first magazine had been filed to fit the rifle. The shop owner was kind enough to throw in the second magazine for free if I did the filing myself. "Deal" I said and brought it home. Filed down the second mag to fit and head to my friend's farm the next day to test my new baby out. I load 5 rounds into the second mag and the damned thing won't cycle a round. I try out the original mag and it works like a charm.

Then begins my research on this wonderful rifle I have purchased. I find this site and learn all kinds of tidbits of knowledge including the fact that the dealer sold me a rifle that is non-compliant with 922r with the magazine attached. Everything is stock on my rifle, less the magazine. That's all fine and good, as I'm going to purchase several 10rd magazines to keep it legal. I'll toss my working 30rd in the closet and save it for a class 3 zombie outbreak. However, I just couldn't figure out why the second magazine was jamming and it was really bugging me.