barrel length difference

Is the 20.5 inch barrel more accurate than the 16 inch barrel? I have read conflicting information. One person said that the longer barrel improves velocity but not accuracy. Wouldn't increased velocity mean flatter trajectory? Wouldn't this be more accurate and increase range? I am a novice so I have no experience to back up my logic. Thanks

Is the 20.5 inch barrel more accurate than the 16 inch barrel? I have read conflicting information. One person said that the longer barrel improves velocity but not accuracy. Wouldn't increased velocity mean flatter trajectory? Wouldn't this be more accurate and increase range? I am a novice so I have no experience to back up my logic. Thanks

There are a lot of things that affect accuracy of a rifle. Length is just one. you should pick the one you like best aesthetically.

There is no MECHANICAL accuracy advantage between a 16" barrel and a 20".

Any accuracy advantage will be from an increase in SIGHT RADIUS that comes from a front sight that is 4" forward. This is a real factor, that for all intents and purposes, has more to do with combat accuracy than good bench rest mesurements.

There is no MECHANICAL accuracy advantage between a 16" barrel and a 20".

Any accuracy advantage will be from an increase in SIGHT RADIUS that comes from a front sight that is 4" forward. This is a real factor, that for all intents and purposes, has more to do with combat accuracy than good bench rest mesurements.

Well I believe I found my own answer. This is more than I wanted to know but it is complete.

http://www.riflebarrels.com/articles/barre...rest_rifles.htm

I have the 20.5" barrel version.

I chose the longer barrel for the increase in sight radius using the iron sights, as I don't plan on putting optics on such an inexpensive kalishnakov...... and won't be needing to clear any houses anytime soon :) .