New Owner What to do??

Hi all, I have been lurking this site for quite sometime and I really wanted to thank you all for the wealth of information available to a rookie like me. Anyways, I just purchased my first S12 and have some range time set booked up for this weekend. Do you guys have any good tips on how to break in a new saiga? Another question I have is ammo. Im totally new to the shotgun world and not completely sure which rounds I should start off with buying while the gun is new (specific brands and types would be helpful).

My plans are to make sure everything is working as it should and once I have confirmed that I will do the conversion. Thanks in advance!

Edited by SDRider

Hand cycle the weapon for about 10 minutes, violently. There's your "break in". Really, don't waste your money, do it by hand. Do not lube the weapon before you do this. Take a good look at the hammer and underside of the bolt carrier before you do it. A few good before and after pics will give you a pretty good idea of what "break in" does.... almost nothing. Many are firm believers of "break in". IF it were that simple, there would be no market for reliability services on these weapons.

I'm not buying it..... or 100s of rounds of Buckshot in a fruitless effort to make a weapon run that will still need some sort of gunsmithing anyway.

Before you fire the weapon, lube all friction points on the carrier, bolt, and hammer. Do not lube the gas block, puc, bolt face, or chamber.

Find out your weapon's limits. Try the following ammos....

Federal Multi-Purpose

Remington Sport Loads

Winchester Universal

You might even try some #6 or #4 shot as well. Try to stay away from extra light or low recoil loads, other than buck or slugs. Get small boxes of ammo. If your weapon will not run with it, at least you don't have a lot of left over.

....and try some heavier stuff, maybe a box or two of slugs or buckshot.