Howdy gang I am new to reloading and I was wondering which powder and primers you all like the best. My press will be here in a few days as will my 308 dies. I have some basic FMJ 147 Winchester bullets, and I have a plethora of reloadable brass ready to go. I want to do it right and I figured go to the experts on this subject. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

I also use the Winchester 200 LR Primers with 42gn IMR4895 with some old Winchester 150gn silvertips (load works good for plinking). I have also loaded Hornady 165gn spirepoints on top of those loads. I found the flat base shot better than the boattails out of my 21" barrel. No scientific testing was done, just some plinking (don't read more into it).

I also use the Winchester 200 LR Primers with 42gn IMR4895 with some old Winchester 150gn silvertips (load works good for plinking). I have also loaded Hornady 165gn spirepoints on top of those loads. I found the flat base shot better than the boattails out of my 21" barrel. No scientific testing was done, just some plinking (don't read more into it).

Thanks for getting back to me on this. Sorry for sounding snotty before .

cci primers and 44.5 grains of ramshot tac under a 165 grain hunting soft point. I find the ramshot powder far superior to 4895 in my opinion. It meters much better, offers reduced signs of pressure, and it's typically cheaper.

I use a light crimp from the lee factory crimp die. One trick is to crimp twice lightly, rotate the round a small amount so the high ridges of the first crimp are removed by the second pass. Not much pressure to the crimp, just a little pressure is enough to secure the bullet.