Seeking advice from active and retired military personnel

Hi all,

My name is Matt, and I've been a member here for a while now. I'm an avid shooter and outdoorsman. I'm also a graduate student studying Clinical Neuropsychology, and I plan to dedicate my career to helping injured war veterans and their families.

This is a very nonconventional post for be, but it's also very serious. So, if you're active or retired military, or are familiar with issues concerning the military, I would sincerely appreciate you taking some time to read this.

For my Thesis and eventually my Dissertation, I want to conduct research with military personnel. As you might imagine, this can be difficult without going through a government or military organization. So I need some help and advice.

I will be researching soldiers who received traumatic brain injuries, and I want to determine if/how this can contribute to post-traumatic stress disorder. To reach accurate conclusions, I also need to research soldiers who did not receive traumatic brain injuries, but who were in combat nonetheless. Ideally, I need 40 participants: 20 soldiers who received traumatic brain injuries (Group A), and 20 soldiers who were immediately present while a corresponding injured soldier received a traumatic brain injury (Group B ). Finding participants who meet this criteria will be immensely challenging, but it will yield critical research that has not yet been explored by any military or government organization. It will help guide medical and psychological treatment for injured soldiers as they rehabilitate.

My questions:

- How can I find soldiers who received traumatic brain injuries (Group A)?

- How can I find soldiers who were immediately present (Group B ) while a corresponding soldier from Group A received a traumatic brain injury?

- How should I respectfully approach them to request their participation and consent?

- Any other suggestions?