Legion or Izhmash?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Monster 11 Saiga

Monster 11 Saiga

• Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 10 March 2011 - 09:06 PM

I had the chance to buy a Saiga-12. The guy on the phone said that it was a Saiga-12 that was MADE and IMPORTED by Legion (NOT Russian American Armory and Izhmash).

What is the difference?

Is the Saiga-12 made by more than one firm?

Is it less valuable, wanted, and reliable?

Who should I buy from?

I'm a Newbie and want a Saiga-12 NIB from Izhmash!

#2 L5K

L5K

Executive Member

• PipPipPip
  • 600 posts

Posted 10 March 2011 - 09:23 PM

Guy on the phone is wrong. Legion is a branch of Izhmash. Apparently they make the "higher end" products from Izhmash. That said, I have heard that almost all newly imported Saiga's, be them rifles or shotguns, are marked Legion.

The gun itself was probably imported by Mercury Hermes in Louisville, KY.

#3 TX-Zen

TX-Zen

Снайперская винтовка Драгунова

• PipPipPip
  • 833 posts

Posted 10 March 2011 - 09:48 PM

Guy on the phone is wrong. Legion is a branch of Izhmash. Apparently they make the "higher end" products from Izhmash. That said, I have heard that almost all newly imported Saiga's, be them rifles or shotguns, are marked Legion.

The gun itself was probably imported by Mercury Hermes in Louisville, KY.

That about sums it up right there.

Z

#4 beefcakeb0

beefcakeb0

Citizen

• Chat Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,992 posts

Posted 10 March 2011 - 10:14 PM

I have a MADE IN RUSSIA BY IZHMASH

ARSENAL LAS
VEGAS NV USA
LEGION IZHEVSK

Edited by beefcakeb0, 10 March 2011 - 10:15 PM.

#5 Monster 11 Saiga

Monster 11 Saiga

• Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 March 2011 - 01:13 AM

So Legion is a "division" (??) of Izhmash....ok

will the Legion still have the Izhmash logo stamped on the gun with the MADE IN RUSSIA?

#6 Nailbomb

Nailbomb

Plague-Bearer

• Super Moderator
  • 6,307 posts

Posted 11 March 2011 - 01:15 AM