Bolt repair/replacement on WH M1 Thompson

I'm a welder with access to a TIG, so I'm hoping this could be a DIY fix, but it's off to a bad start.. I've got an Auto Ordnance M1 Thompson (Semi-auto) made in West Hurley, so apparently I'm screwed on factory parts and service. Lesson learned: I will always research my firearms before purchasing from here on out.

First issue: Fired brass not only has the primer indented, but even the rear of the cartridge has the oval indentation from the firing pin. I've always assumed it to be a 'querk' of Thompsons, but have no basis for comparison. Is this normal, or was this my worst impulse buy ever?