Hi, I'm in the process of buying a saiga but i can't choose between 7.62x39 or 5.45x39. I understand the ballistics of the two rounds, and I know the wapons each was intended for, (7.62-ak-47, 5.45-ak-74), and as far as price goes each round seems to be generally the same, if you can find them in stock. I'm open to either round but the only thing keeping me from commiting to one or another is availability of ammo and especially magazines. (I'm doing a mag conversion to AK)

I've been poking around on the web for the last week or so trying to find well priced mags for both rounds and I have come to the conclusion that 5.45 AK mags are much harder to come by. Is this true?

I'm new to the fourm and this is my first post so Thank You in advance, and I apologize if I screw something up in my post :rolleyes:

Welcome aboard!

I recently started a similar thread in the 7.62x39 subforum. It has quite a bit of useful information, and may answer some of your questions and help you decide between the two rifles.

http://forum.saiga-12.com/index.php?showtopic=48975

Thanks for the welcome Moe. And thanks for the link it rly helped!

This gun is going to be a home defense/SHTF gun so I think I'll stick with 7.62. I like the fact that US companies produce 7.62, not to mention that with the right bullet 7.62 can cause some serrious tissue dammage.

The 5.45 would be betetr for plinking but I guess thats what I bought a .22LR for.

As far as future availability goes, in your opinion, do you think 7.62 will be a readily available surplus round in say 10-15 yrs?

Welcome aboard!

I recently started a similar thread in the 7.62x39 subforum. It has quite a bit of useful information, and may answer some of your questions and help you decide between the two rifles.

http://forum.saiga-12.com/index.php?showtopic=48975

Thanks for the welcome Moe. And thanks for the link it rly helped!