Is there a Rifle Caliber Encyclopedia?

I'm pretty new to the world of rifles, and I've been trying to learn all I can, but it seems that most "which caliber saiga is for me" threads that come up in the search are full of a thousand different subjective opinions that are not helping me much. It'd be nice if I could find some sort of reference that had simple information about each caliber saiga rifle without all the subjective stuff. Does such thread or resource exist? For example.

Caliber: (7.62x39/.223/.308/5.45 etc...)

Range: (yds)

Recoil: (light/medium/heavy)

Game Type: (CXP1/2/3)

Ammo Supply: (plentiful/average/rare)

Ammo Weight: (per 100 rounds)

Ammo Cost: (cents per round)

Mags Available: (10/12/20/30drums)

I was just making that up as I went along, but you get the idea. is there anything out there like this? Thanks!

Well, as far as caliber wars go, that argument is as old as the internet itself and you will likely just end up more confused the more you read.

As far as range goes, the limiting factor in these guns becomes the gun itself and not the round. For example a bolt action .308, you could do 600-800 yards, but with a sloppy Saiga action, you won't get anywhere close to 800 yards. Figure that any of the rifle caliber Saigas in the hands of a good shooter are effective for pizza-pie sized groups out to 300 yards or so, with a few outliers and people who have done 400 with all and 500 with the .308, 5.45 and .223.

For recoil, .223 and 5.45 have virtually none especially with a good muzzle brake, x39 has a decent kick but still pretty mild as far as rifles go especially with a brake. .308 kicks like a full size rifle would.

.308 and x39 would be good for most deer, hogs, etc. It depends where you live and what kind of deer, scrawny southern deer you can probably hunt humanely with a 5.45 or .223 with the right ammo but it wouldn't be so effective on some of their beefier northern cousins.