Can you reload a steel cased 7.62x39 with a different bullet?

Is there anything stopping anyone from pulling the bullet out of say, a 7.62x39 tula 122fmj, then reseating a more advanced bullet, while using the same powder. Would there be a crimp involved or anything else to worry about. Also, in doing this, could you save money, as US made x39rds are almost 3-4 times as much as the russian stuff.

I am a complete newb to reloading, and I dont really think it would be practical for this caliber. I was just wondering if putting a better bullet in my cheap steel cases was possible, and if so, more economical. Any opinions would help.

It's technically feasible, sure, but there are a few things to watch out for. Steel cases will wear out your dies faster than brass - I would not attempt with anything but carbide dies. I would also recommend not reusing the powder. Everything I've read says the Russian powder is crap, and using a more advanced (I'm assuming you mean one intended to be more accurate) bullet might be defeated by using crappy powder. It also might be difficult to find appropriate load data for the Russian powder if you are using a bullet of a different weight. I assume you'll be hand-pulling the bullets using one of those plastic tools Cabela's sells - this will keep the projectiles undamaged, therefore sellable or reloadable later, but dumps the powder all over the inside of the tool.

It's been done... Google search "Mexican-match" ammo. The steel cases are the real issue, tearing up dies, and not responding well to being worked.

Finding some decent brass might be better, but if you really had to try to get consistency out of cheap ammo, pulling the bullets, sorting/replacing them with better, and either using better powder or blending everything you pulled and reloading it with more attention to weight can be done.