advantages or disadvantages of 5.45 over 223

This is probably an obvious total noob question and shouldn't have posted but tried to search and didn't find much either way.

I am looking to buy first rifle and think that 5.45x39 maybe it cost of ammo is big factor.Looking for something that can be multi purposed.And reload able at decent cost.223 was suggested by a friend.

Looking for advise to hopefully help out noob.

Read somewhere that if going to have Russian that 7.62x39 should be first one reason was availability of ammo.Does that sound true?

I have posted about buying first rifle before but that was maker now looking for info on caliber.

Thanks in advance and if need be sorry for waste of space and delete

Advantages to 5.45 - cheaper ammo, shoots as well as .223

Disadvantage to 5.45 - mostly surplus or import ammo so supply could dry up if import laws on ammo change, ammo may be have to shipped and hazmat fees could drive cost up unless you have a local and regular source. not reloadable as far as I know, but it's a mute point with the AK.

You can reload once fired brass to reduce cost of 223 but once you fire it out of an AK it usually get the AK kiss and the brass is toast, and can't be reloaded. Also you have to invest in reloading equipment so you may have to reload and shoot a few thousand rounds to recoup cost.

Personally, I reload once fired 223 and make nearly match grade ammo, for what most guys pay for Wolf Steel case 223 @ 1000rnds. I usually buy in bulk minimum 5000 pcs, and mutiple 8lbs kegs of Varget to get cost down. Sometimes you gotta set aside the money to buy in bulk and save. The reason I shoot 223 over other calibers is that I own other rifles in the same caliber so it makes snese to keep one caliber for me.

...once you fire it out of an AK it usually get the AK kiss and the brass is toast, and can't be reloaded.

ABSOLUTELY UNTRUE!!!!!!