Saiga 308 trigger problem

Good day good people,

I recently acquired a 223 Saiga rifle, and a 308 Saiga rifle. I bought both online, new.

This post is about the trigger on the Saiga 308.

I am relatively new to the larger gun world, and, accordingly, and not totally up on all the gun lingo yet, nor am I technically proficient in general. So please bear with me while I catch up to speed.

I googled about the problem I'm going to post here. I thought it was just my rifle, but apparently as it seems on many other posts, this is a common issue: I do not like the trigger pull on the 308 whatsoever. The two-stage trigger pull combined with the powerful impact of the gun makes me a bit uncomfortable.

I live in New York State. We are allowed only one "military" aspect to a gun. I am already maxed out as you guys know the 308 has a detachable magazine. I do not understand fully what "conversion" means, that you fellow speak of a lot, however, it seems that most of the trigger modification posts state to do a conversion, which I believe would mean adding another, minimally, military aspect to my rifle, which is illegal in New York.

Okay, so, is there a way I can have my current trigger, or, swap out to a different trigger, my 308, without having to do a conversion which would still enable my rifle illegal in New York State by not having to add another military aspect?

If the answer is yes, let's first go with modifying my trigger-what would have to be done? Since I have not technically proficient, unless it is first-grader easy, I am going to have to take it to a gunsmith.

Let's go with the second scenario: assuming a new trigger can be put in, and this is a better option than having my trigger modified, what trigger would I get? Where? And since I am not technically proficient, I'm assuming a gunsmith would have to do this, correct?

All input and help is sincerely greatly appreciated

Thank you!

Gunsmith could likely get it working better with the original parts.