Tips on how to remove side mount on the side of S12 receiver?

So, I'm putting the R&R Targets AR style safety selector switch on my S12 and am trying to remove the scope mount on the side of my S12 receiver, can anyone give me some tips? Maybe post a link? Or ANYTHING that would help me remove this thing, I've got plenty of experience working with AKs, I've just never wanted to remove one until now and I NEED IT GONE!!! Thanks guys..

Mike

I center punch the rivet heads and carefully drill them off with a bit that is the same size as the rivet shaft. After that is done properly, the rail can be pried off without much effort. Then knock the rivets out of the receiver with a punch. I use the rails to replace Romanian rails when I want to install an AK100 on anything Romanian because the rear rivet hole of the Romy rail doesn't match with the Russian rear block. Hope this helps.

Looks so clean without it....

post-22401-0-52482500-1347588628_thumb.jpg

Edited by evlblkwpnz
  • Like 3

I center punch the rivet heads and carefully drill them off with a bit that is the same size as the rivet shaft. After that is done properly, the rail can be pried off without much effort. Then knock the rivets out of the receiver with a punch. I use the rails to replace Romanian rails when I want to install an AK100 on anything Romanian because the rear rivet hole of the Romy rail doesn't match with the Russian rear block. Hope this helps.

Awesome, that is what I'll do then, I have one out completely, the one in the front, I'm changing the rear trunnion out for the SGM AR adapter, so I needed to remove that one anyway, that middle one looks like its going to be the biggest problem.... Thanks again for your insight, you are a true asset to the Saiga community.
  • Like 1

Thanks again for your insight, you are a true asset to the Saiga community. unfounded internet rumor ;)