Pop Rivet for Bullet Guide?

Can you use a pop rivet to install the bullet guide on a Saiga 7.62x39.

I've read the horror stories about guys breaking taps, and was wondering if this could be a solution. Just drill the hole and use your rivet tool to rivet the bullet guide in.

Any reasons why this wouldn't work?

I just got a Saiga 7.62x39 and will be able to take it home this weekend after the 10 day waiting period in Kommiefornia. When I converted my Saiga 308, I didn't install a bullet guide, so I have no experience with that part.

I bought the BG guide kit with drill and tap from CSS.

Thanks!

There has been at lest one member here that has done so with positive results so far that I know of. I would try to use a steel rivet over an aluminum one if you can for obvious reasons. I would try to use a high strength rivet with a steel mandrel and rivet. I dont see why it wouldnt work, but its long term usage that remains to be seen on the effectiveness. Time will tell.

But with that said, tapping the trunnion can be hit and miss depending upon your skill level with tools. If you go slow, you shouldnt have any issues, but when its rushed, or too much force is applied then the end result is usually a broken tap. I normally use a cutting oil when tapping, and only turn a fraction of a turn at a time, and stop frequently to blow out the loose metal.

• Like 1