welding on the "ugly gun"

im kinda new to welding, learning as much and as fast as i can.....

i would like guidance as well as points of view from yall. i know the more skilled craftsmen (gunsmiths) can help us newbies out tremendously. ive see some work that leaves me in awe. id like to know as much as u can tell me and others on this forum. i work with a guy that is extremely cautious about heat near the reciever, but i want to push the limits.

thanks

My gun is migged, all i can say is just pratice on scrap metal, i'm really not good enough for a presentable gun, so i had my brother-in-law do my gun, i'm better at things that aren't meant to be seen like under cars and whatnot, but what i picked up is make sure you have a steady hand, proper heat and penetration (i notice a rough area on the other side for penetration) and of course a mask. if you get sloppy, you'd better be handy with a dremel to smooth it out.....good luck, i'm not much help but i give what i can, i learn best with hands on experiance vs. theory ;)

Edited by Vultite
  • 2 weeks later...

TIG is better for gun work, you can plug holes with MIG, but a lot of jobs just won't work with wire feed.

+100 on the scrap metal. Get it in different thickness, going ever thinner. If you can successfully weld .030" steel, then there isn't really anything you can't get welded. If you've got any trashed steel magazines, they're good practice, as they run about .030" thick.

im kinda new to welding, learning as much and as fast as i can.....

i would like guidance as well as points of view from yall. i know the more skilled craftsmen (gunsmiths) can help us newbies out tremendously. ive see some work that leaves me in awe. id like to know as much as u can tell me and others on this forum. i work with a guy that is extremely cautious about heat near the reciever, but i want to push the limits.

thanks