I am a newbie on the forum and hopefully someone can give me a bit of advice. I am looking to buy either a SAIGA M3 or a MK in .223 Rem. Does anyone have any experience of the MK (AK-102)? I have shot the M3 several times, however I am unsure what the shorter barrel length of the MK will do to accuracy.....

Any help much appreciated!

308_win

Nalioth,

Sorry to hear that. Im in the UK. Comes as a surprise that we are allowed something here that you arent!

308_win

To be honest, 308_win, I'd still rather have our Saigas. Yours are "straight-pull" guns, if I recall the term correctly. For those of us in the USA who are unfamiliar with that term, a "straight-pull" semiautomatic requires you to cycle the action each shot by hand.

We can take our ugly old Saigas and turn them into an MK or M3 (and many people do). I find it satisfying to do this work, myself.

To answer your question, the MK has the same barrel length as the AKSU-74/AKS-74U, and these are issued to troops in place of a submachine gun. I'd not think you'd get anywhere near the accuracy of the M3 at 200 yards range. IMHO, the AK isn't accurate like our soldiers are used to in the M16 / L85, but you lose a lot in the shorter barrel.

Edited by nalioth
Yours are "straight-pull" guns, if I recall the term correctly. For those of us in the USA who are unfamiliar with that term, a "straight-pull" semiautomatic requires you to cycle the action each shot by hand.

I've seen a video on YouTube with a "straight-pull" Saiga. The guy said he had to have the gas tube blocked off, and was racking the bolt by hand each shot.

Edited to add video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gak-aCSTkPE (he's got quite the flinch, watch when he pulls the trigger the first time, with no round chambered)

Edited by 22_Shooter

Fixed.

Straight-Pull...

The Romanians did something similar for here in the USA Kalifornistan with the PAR rifles, instead of straight pull they made pump action SAR AK's...