I prefer Hornady in my family we do a lot of deer hunting and our longest shot so far has been 268 yards . we use 150 gr SST bullets in 308 win. and there is no tracking . I have not seen a deer go over 30 feet, but all the shots were well made. when you process them the lungs just run out in a puddle. The sst bullets just seem to explode on impact but there is always an exit hole . I have tried other types of ammo REM. Win . Fed ,but the Hornadys always seem to drop them in there tracks . What types of premium ammo is your favorite , not talking about plinking

I reload, but my favorite projectile is Sierra Gamekings. They are very consistent, and have always served me well in hunting with 5.56. 

I do buy factory for my self defense ammo. Speer Gold Dot's across the board (9, 40, 45)

That being said, the Hornady SST's are pretty awesome too. I have some factory SST's for my x39 and it drops anything I have ever shot. I am new to the 308 platform (Vepr 308), so I may have to look into the SST's. See how it compares to my reloaded Gamekings.

Edited by Semper299

I don't run a lot of premium ammo, but I can say that almost every hornady projectile I have measured was exactly what it was supposed to be. Same for nosler. Remington projectiles are all over the place, at least for their normal hunting grade stuff.

• Like 1

From the reasonable to the extreme, we try to use .22rf Aquila 60 grain round nose lead subsonic so-called SSS ammo.  Sub Sonic Sniper?  The tasty gray tree squirrels never stand a chance?  Only in season with a license. No tags needed out here in SW OR USA.  The guilty mean nasty killing rifle, (or dinner and supper provider) is our SBR heavily modified suppressed Ruger 10-22.  Elite Iron Echo 6" Can.  Shortened Choate folder.  Eight inch Green Mountain SS BB 1x9 twist barrel.  Bentz chamber.  With a light spring and a Vorquartzen (sp) extractor, 100% function.  About 1.5" accuracy at 50 yards. Will try 100.  Factory 10 rd mags.