What muzzle brake actually works well?

So I took my new Saiga 12 out today and tried various types of ammo and I prefer using 3" magnum over all... But, with the 3" magnum the recoil is brutal lol!!!! So my question is, which muzzle brake actually works and is actually worth spending the money on?

I'm not an expert on balistic dynamics and recoil physics, but from all that I've heard from my smith and other RKI's.....you're wasting $$ if you want a muzzle device to reduce recoil on a shotgun. They look neat, and can reduce flash signature. Mossy 835's were ported 3/4's of the way down the barrel instead of the end of the barrel for a reason.

There is a guy who has posted a pic on here of his Saiga, and he has a tanker style viper-head looking brake in the mid section of his barrel. This is about the only way to really reduce recoil by porting or adding on a barrel device on a shotgun. The gas escape is vastly different with shot and a bullet, so the traditional brakes really have no real effect on a shotgun.

Muzzlebrakes aren't as effective on a shotgun as they are on a rifle due to the comparative difference between the mass of the projectile and the propellant, but we still get appreciable results with our KA-1212 series. There are some additional factors that make a muzzlebrake effective on a shotgun and they will vary in effectiveness depending on their design. Its always fun to have people tell us that a muzzlebrake doesn't work on a shotgun then let them shoot one of our demo guns. It really frustrates the piss out them when they sit there and try to figure out why it worked ;)

• Like 1