AGP magazines a good buy?

Ok I'm new to the Saiga-12 (have a S308), I just picked up a 19" version a few days ago and the shop just got in some of the AGP mags so we tried it out. The mags wouldn't seat in my S12, it looked like the ribs at the top of the magazine were preventing it from being fully inserted in the rifle. So I did some reading here and noticed there could be other things that prevent it from working. Is it the norm for these mags to require work to get them to function, or is it the exception?

Just trying to see if I will be buying a headache or not.

Thanks!

they all need to be broken in.

all 8 of mine did this.

I found the best way was to seat the mag and gently force the mag release into place.

Some are harder than others. If they are too hard lightly sand the catch and try again. It takes a couple minutes to get each one right.

Another thing the first two mags I bought I sanded the notch that seemed to be holding it up and they dont feed as well as the others because it seats too high in th magwell and certain high bras stuff catches as the bolt chambers a round.

The others that I did the mag release wear in method dry cycle and fire everything perfect.

Edited by killasoundz

Don't change the gun to match an aftermarket mag. File the lower side of the rear locking lug on the mag til the catch will come forward and lock it in place. Don't mess with the ribs or you may run into the same problem as above. They were put where they are for a reason. Some people have had some trouble with the followers not coming all the way to the top without slowing under friction from the sides. This can be remedied with a little sanding and some dry lube like graphite.

Most of these mags work fine in most Saiga 12's. You have to keep in mind that although these are great shotguns and they are in a class by themselves. However due to the way they are manufactured, they are not all exactly the same and have differences in tolerances in several places.